Tags

, , ,

With the announcement of former Apple CEO and Founder Steve Jobs’ death, it is quite interesting to see all the reaction. Mr. Jobs was only 56 years old at the time of his passing and only up till a couple of months ago he was still leading Apple.

This is what Apple had to say about him: 

Steve Jobs
1955-2011

Apple has lost a visionary and creative genius, and the world has lost an amazing human being. Those of us who have been fortunate enough to know and work with Steve have lost a dear friend and an inspiring mentor. Steve leaves behind a company that only he could have built, and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple.

When my wife told me about the news I wasn’t sure why I felt the way I did. I never had the opportunity to meet the man who had influenced the lives of so many and unknowingly to many of us had invaded our homes with so many revolutionary ideas. But upon hearing of his passing, I did get saddened. One of the first things I wondered was how was his relationship with God. Did he know Jesus? Did he talk to Jesus? Of course I don’t know the answers to these questions, all I do know is that this man was a very talented man and a creative genius that many people will miss.

With this said, I got to thinking of our own lives and our legacies. Mr. Jobs left a legacy that will impact many lives for decades to come (he is being mentioned in the same breath as Edison and Bell as one of the great inventors). We may never have the opportunity to touch as many lives as Mr. Jobs did but what are we doing to touch and better the lives of those around us.

1. My Family – My family needs me. It’s as simple as that. They need me to be a loving husband, a loving father, a loving son, and a loving brother. This is one of those areas where I believe it’s easy for us to overlook. We see them everyday. We talk to them everyday. We listen to them everyday. What am I doing to love them, to provide for them (not just materialistically), to encourage them, and to disciple them.

2. My Church – God has entrusted me with a great talent. Am I using it for his honor and glory? Or am I using for the honor and glory of ME? What am I teaching my brother and sisters in Christ? Am I being a Godly example in my lifestyle, my worship, my conversations, and my attitude.

3. My Co-Workers or Classmates – This is another area where we can make the mistake of just thinking there is nothing we can do at our jobs and take a simplistic attitude in that I will do my job and get out. What is our legacy here. Are we known at our work place as a person who loves God and people or are we known as just one of the guys or one of the girls.

You and I have many things to offer this world and the “immediate” world around us. We are Children of God and He has called us to be a light unto this world and a reflection of Christ. Remember we don’t have that much time left. Everyday that passes is either a missed opportunity or it is a day in which we helped to advance God’s Kingdom.

What’s your legacy? What do you want people to look back and remember about your life?

