Tags

, , , , ,

>NOTE: NO PRACTICE TOMORROW<

On Wednesday I was speaking to NV about the importance of finding and carrying out the role that we have been called for in the Body of Christ. Here is the key scripture we used:

“…Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the faith God has distributed to each of you. For just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we, though many, form one body, and each member belongs to all the others. “
Romans 12:3-5 (NIV)

In the same way, each one of us has a role to play on the Worship Team. The advantage we have on the WT is, generally speaking, our roles are specific. Believe it or not, the NVWT has 11 active members who each play specific roles on any given Sunday.

Individually, each one of us is important to the overall sound and quality of the WT, but as the scripture above advises us, just because we play specific roles and they are defined it does not mean we should think of ourselves any higher than what we really are. We are equally loved and saved by God and we are equally called to fulfill a ministry in the Body of Christ. We are also called to complement each other on the Team.

What is your role and what are you doing to complement others in the team? Here are the basic 4 groups in the Worship Team.

– MUSICIANS: As a keyboard player, am I complementing my guitar player or am I stepping all over his toes as he is playing his individual parts. Am I walking all over the bass players part (when we have one). I need to make sure that every part I play I remember that there are other musicians involved. I’m not putting on Virtuoso Piano Concert. Whatever instrument one plays it is important you understand the role of the instrument for each particular song (is the song guitar driven? is it mainly piano? or is bass and drums driven?). Whatever the song is we should do the best to make it sound appropriate to the way it was intended to sound. We should not overplay and we should always let a song breathe!

– Background Vocals (BGVs): I am to complement the Worship Leader. I’m going to say it again, I am to complement the Worship Leader. I am a part of the BGVs, I’m not the lead singer. I should not compete with the person who is leading a particular song to sound louder or to out ad-lib them. They are leading the worship not me. I should have confidence in the Sound engineer that he is doing a great job with the mix and my BGVs can be heard at a reasonable level so as to create harmony in the song. One more time, I am to complement the Worship Leader.

Edited Jack BlackThis is not us!!

– Worship Leader (or Lead Singer for Song): The band is not “my” band. It is not my name in lights outside the church. I’m not the latest winner of “Worship Leader Idol.” ;-). I am here to exalt His name high for the whole world to see. The service is not about me. I should trust my BGVs to carry a song so I can talk to the congregation through a particular part of a song or to give some encouragement or pray. I do not have to be heard at all times. Remember what we practiced, I should not put the band in a difficult position and pull a song out of my hat that we have never ever done before at the last minute. Yes, allow for spontaneous moments but try to keep those moments simple and not overcomplicated.

– Tech Team: It is my responsibility to make the overall sound enjoyable and pleasant for everyone in the church. That means if the piano is to loud, I must turn it down even if the keyboard player gets upset :-|. I want to be friends but I have to do my job. I should try to minimize those moments when the musicians are trying to get my attention and they can’t because I’m to busy talking to my neighbor, ummm no, …I mean I’m busy praising God with all my heart. I have a job to do. I cannot walk out of the service while music is being played unless I leave capable supervision at the sound booth. I will not put the songs up on the screen until the band is actually singing and playing the song.

I could add many more things to these lists but I’m sure you get the idea. We are all members of the team and we should complement each other. Every week that passes we learn more and we do better. Thank you guys for all of your hard work!!

By the way BGVs, I want to thank my wonderful wife for the work she is doing with you guys!! You guys are doing awesome at listening and learning from the advice she is giving you, keep it up!!

