Tags

,

Yes, welcome to the wonderful world of volunteering. It is a world of hard work and sacrifice but one of great satisfaction and of blessing. What exactly is a volunteer you may ask. Simply put a volunteer is a person who decides of his own accord to undertake a service without any type of compensation.

As members of the Worship Team (WT), you and I are heavily involved volunteers. Two times out of the week (sometimes more) we are expected to perform a service in the church (and this does not include the rehearsal time and the personal practice time at home). But not just any service. It’s not just show up and do it. It’s not we’ll see how things turn out. The Pastor of the church has certain expectations of the WT just as he has them for every other volunteer position (Sunday School Teachers, Ushers, Ministers, Deacons, Department Leaders, Home Group Leaders, etc.). The Music Director (a volunteer himself in our case) also has another set of expectations for the WT. Even the Worship Leader for the week has a certain level of expectation when it comes to the WT.

VolunteersAs a volunteer on the WT (or in any of the other positions) one of the most basic things expected from us is for us to be prepared and willing to work hard to accomplish the goals and visions cast out before us. Because of this it is easy for us to become burned out and have the wrong ideas about our positions because after all we are volunteers. So I’ve made a list of some negative and positive mindsets we can have in our positions.

NEGATIVE MINDSET OF A VOLUNTEER:

  • I’m the only one that knows how to do this, they had better treat me right.
  • They’re not paying me, they can’t tell me what to do.
  • I’m just a volunteer, what do they want from me?
  • He can’t tell me what to do, he himself doesn’t know how. (I’ve had drummers say this to me, unbelievable!)
  • Practice! We’re talking about practice! (Reminds me of a certain basketball player from a few years back)
  • If I don’t show up what are they going to do? Fire me?
  • If they wanted a professional they should’ve hired a professional!!

POSITIVE MINDSET OF A VOLUNTEER:

  • I’m the only one who knows how to do this, I’d better make sure I’m there when I’m needed.
  • Wow, what a privilege that has been given to me.
  • The Pastor really trusts me with this, what a blessing.
  • I can’t believe I have the honor of working in my Savior’s service.
  • I understand the vision, I will do my best to make it reality.
  • I will do my best to support the other members of my Team.
  • I will do everything I can to be supportive of the Pastor and the Church Leadership.

So the question becomes where do we fall? Where is our attitude? Are we being positive or negative with our volunteer duties?

The past few months I have felt our team has grown more when it comes to having a servants heart. I appreciate everything you guys do and let’s keep working hard to serve our Lord and to serve the congregation we are blessed to be a part of.

