It’s amazing to me how our lives pass by so fast. How we can immerse ourselves so deeply into something and before you know it…time has passed you by. Mark Hall wrote the lyrics that say we are nothing but “a wave tossed in the ocean, a vapor in the wind.” James questions and answers in chapter 4 verse 14, “…What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.” (NIV)

As people we get caught up in things that are so unimportant in our lives and take pleasure in things that will never benefit us in one way or another. Even though I didn’t like the tone in how he said it, LeBron James reminded all of us (and I’m paraphrasing) that at the end of the day we all have to wake up to our own reality and to our own problems. Even if we do take momentary pleasure in the Mavs defeating the Heat or in other things (not that I’m saying it’s wrong to enjoy these things, I was right there cheering the Mavs on), we cannot lose perspective of the world around us.

As I type, Bro. Federico is in the hospital again and not feeling well and just thinking about the battle he and his family are going through which led me to think of the battle my family and I went through got me to thinking about all of this. I ask you to keep him in your prayers. That God will give him strength, power and more faith. That his Spirit will comfort him through any pain and uneasiness he may feel at the moment. That his family and him can rest assured that Jesus is with them every step of the way.

The Bible tells us God is with us through all of our trials and difficulties (Psalm 23). God tells us not to fear anything that comes our way because He is with us:

“So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10 (NIV)

Bro. Federico is our family, he is our brother, and he is a part of our team. We should not forget to keep him front and center in our prayers. In Jesus name we will overcome!

