songwriting

I was sharing this idea from another blog with my wife about doing a Songwriting Retreat for our Worship Team  and since it’s something I’m seriously considering, I thought I’d go ahead and share it with you also.

The basic premise is this. As a Worship Team we will  take time to worship together and pray as a TEAM and from this moment of worship let a new song flow from our hearts. The past two years I have set as goals for our team to write our own songs for our local congregation. Why? Because I don’t like the songs Jesus Adrian Romero, Marco Barrientos, Marcos Witt, Hillsong or Chris Tomlin write? No. It’s because I’ve feel that as worshippers, musicians, and singers (remember these are all creative positions) we should be inspired by God and allow ourselves to be moved by Him to the point of expressing our worship through our own words.

David proclaimed, “I will bless the Lord at all times: his praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34:1 KJV) Therefore, songwriting should be a natural extension or process of the work done by the Worship Team that is continually praising God.  Even though I have set these as goals, we have not met them. Up until now, no one has come to me to share a song they’ve written. I have written two songs but I’m my own biggest critic and I tend to overanalyze and overthink what I have written making me reluctant to share them with the whole congregation. The point is we have to start somewhere. I remember reading somewhere that Matt Redman (Heart of Worship, Better is One Day) writes over 40 songs in preparation for a new album and only ends up using 9-10 of those songs.

I’m not looking for us to write the next “Revelation Song,” “I Can Only Imagine,” or even “Cristo Yo Te Amo”. It’s even possible we walk out of the retreat without writing a song we feel can be used during worship but what I am looking for us to do is to attempt to write songs born from our very own worship. The blogger I mentioned (his name is David Santistevan) states 6 reasons for having a Songwriting Retreat (you can read the full article here):

1. To Foster Creativity

2. To Collaborate

3. To Voice What God is Doing

4. To Serve The Church

5. To Strengthen Your Team

6. To Raise up New Songwriters

I recommend you guys read the article. Let me know what you think and if you would want to go to something like this. I don’t know if we would all go to the first one we do but it will be (notice I said it “will be”, I’m no longer considering it, we will be doing this) an all day retreat where we get away from it all and concentrate on worshipping our God and grow closer as a team, even if we don’t write a song. I’m already targeting August 27th as the date.

