I was undecided on whether or not to post something up regarding this but I have found that talking about it (or in this case typing) and sharing these emotions does help alleviate some of the feelings one has in their heart. I thought about doing it on Sunday, but I could not bring myself to do it on that day (too much emotion). With one day removed from Sunday coupled with the fact that as I type my sister is in the hospital about to give birth to my first nephew, I felt encouraged to write this out.

I have asked God many times, to help me overcome this sense of loss I still get when I think about my brother. And as days go by (it has been almost 6 months) God has helped me cope through this difficult stage in my family’s life. This Sunday that just passed would’ve been Obed’s 30th birthday and ever since I turned 30, I’d been looking forward to his 30th so I could rub it in his face about how old he was getting too, but now that he’s making his permanent residence up in heaven, that is no longer possible. I’m sure he still had a birthday party and as my cousin Malio texted me on Sunday, “Our brother is having the best birthday ever.”

As I reflect on almost 30 years of knowing my brother, these are just a few things I remember about him (It would be impossible to list it all) in no particular order:

His love for God

His love for his family

His love for Nathan, Andrew, and Hannah

His faith

His courage

His strength

His unselfishness

His example

His laugh

His talent

His musical skills (10 times better than me)

His songs

His sense of humor

His love for Star Trek (the nerd)

His encouraging spirit

His smile

His desire to make things better for those around him

His love for his church

His love for youth

His victory in the face of death!

I will never forget what Obed told me before, “No matter what happens, I will be victorious!” I can only hope to be as courageous as he was in the face of death and to me, he is a hero of faith. I do miss my brother very much. I know one day soon, my family and I will see him again and we will forever live in the awesome and loving presence of our Savior, Jesus!

Our lives are but a short time on this Earth, but yet many times we forget that which is truly important and we live egocentric and selfish lives. As children of God, you and I should always remember that we are not of this world (John 15:19). God has called us out of the darkness (1 Peter 2:9) so we can be a light unto this world (Matthew 5:14-16)! Worship Team, Nueva Vida, and anyone else reading, whether we only live a short time or whether we live to be 120 years old, let’s make sure we do not hide our light and instead let’s be a guide for this world, let’s be a reflection of Jesus, let’s be a people who loves others, let’s be courageous in preaching the gospel, let’s let God’s praise continually be in our mouths, and more importantly let’s guide others to Jesus through the example of our lives (Romans 12:2) and through the love He has given us. Let us live our lives fully for the honor and glory of our God!!

